Pinching Myself

I’ve just stopped shaking so I can write this post. Last month I wrote about Life’s Victories – those little things that just make such a difference to your life. Well since I blogged I’ve now got my flashy new wheelchair! This wheelchair has big wheels so I can self propel it and not feel quite so useless when going to the loo etc …. getting someone to park me in the loo then negotiating things to lock the door wasn’t much fun. Now I can wheel myself through that door – YIPPEEEE

Anyway, earlier this afternoon I got a phonecall from my clinical psychologist (C.P. from now on). I had a momentary panic as I thought she was calling to postpone our appointment this week and to be honest I’m actually really looking forward to it. Well that’s not why she was calling. She wanted to give me a “heads up” as she had just spoken to social work about getting us some kind of help in the home … not “home help” as she knows I would hate that but maybe some equipment to help make both my life and J’s life a bit easier.

“There’s one thing though Rhoda, you have to be specific. I know you hating asking for help but you have to tell them how it is on your worst days.” EEEEK, I’m rubbish at that, I’m so used to putting up this front that everything is fine and dandy that when I’m asked to be honest I find it really hard, I’m always trying to put a “cheery” spin on it.

Anyway my C.P. assured me that we would talk through it all at the appointment and I wasn’t to worry just give it some thought. Cool, I can do that.

Two minutes later my phone rang again, it was the social work department. Now I am terrible at talking on the phone to people I don’t know, I get my words all twisted, I feel embarrassed when I can’t remember what I was just saying, I find it hard to concentrate on what they are saying….etc. So you can imagine that I kind of freaked out when I got the call.

The lady however was lovely. She said she understood how hard it is to describe things, she wrote down everything I said and she promised that someone, maybe herself, will be coming out to see us and to see what they can do to help us. AMAZING.

I put down the phone shaking. This is such a big thing in our lives and will make such a huge difference to the way we live.

No sooner had I taken a few deep breaths to calm down than she phoned again to say that she would be sending someone out to help us fill in some forms. She gave me a time and date and said we’ll get out to see you soon.

I put down the phone and tried not to cry. They were tears of relief though. It feels like someone has just lifted a small house from my shoulders, maybe not completely it’s kind of just dangling above now but it’s better than it was.

I’m now sitting here pinching myself. Are we really getting some help? Do the authorities actually care? Well it seems that my C.P. does because without her none of this would have happened!

Hopefully next month I’ll have some progress to report, but right now I’m just so grateful to my wonderful C.P. for caring and helping, and most of all for understanding. Thank you.

3 thoughts on “Pinching Myself

  1. Thats great news. Will be good to see what help you get and everything, sounds like the social work lady really listened and understood what you were saying. i know that is a major bonus for you well talking to professional people. Fingers crossed lots of good things come out of it. xxx

Leave a Reply

