I did it!

For over a year now I’ve known that this weekend would be a hectic one, one that could really test me. Why? Well it was our friends’ wedding! A wedding is one of these occasions that we all hope are a once in a lifetime event so there was no way I was going to miss out.

For the whole of last week I rested as much as possible. I had this goal that I wanted to achieve, I wanted to be at that wedding. So every time I found myself about to do something too tiring I immediately stopped myself and knew that it was for the best.

So Saturday came and I’m pleased to say I made it! In fact I lasted much much longer than I thought I would. It was such a great day and it was so nice to see everybody. I’ve said it before but M.E. is a very lonely condition, so although I found it so tiring talking to everyone I kept reminding myself that just for this one night I had the opportunity to talk to friends! 🙂

All in all I had a great time. I sat my bum in a chair and didn’t move, I just concentrated on talking and catching up with friends. I was, and still am, so proud of myself that I managed this. There were several times I was about to give in and go to bed but despite knowing how awful I would feel the next day I kept going.

Yesterday however was terrible. I slept the entire day, only getting up at 4.45pm to eat my lunch that I had been far too tired to attempt at 1pm. Today I am extremely tired, sore, foggy, etc etc but I don’t care. I’ve achieved something. I made it to a wedding! I spoke to friends! Everyone was so understanding and looked after me the whole way through the day, I couldn’t have done it without them.

Thankfully I don’t have any other big days lined up for the next year! I know I pushed myself too far on Saturday, I know I couldn’t handle anything like that again for a very long time, but I did it! Yes I’m living with the consequences now but for once it’s worth it – I was there on their special day!

Congratulations again Mr & Mrs Bowie!

 

PS I just wanted to add that days like Saturday make me realise how much people care. It’s easy to forget that when you are lying in bed. I’m very lucky to have some truly wonderful people in my life, even if I don’t see them nearly as much as I would like. Thank you all for being there for me, for helping me on Saturday and for talking to the foggy brained zombie in the corner! 🙂 xx

One thought on “I did it!

  1. Yay, I am so glad you made it through, it will keep your mind filled with happy thoughts when your body is complaining too. xx

Leave a Reply

