Keep Smiling…

This week has been a challenge. Pain has escalated and I’ve had to up my painkillers, but even with that the pain just won’t diminish.

I’m used to pain. I reckon I’ve built up a fairly good tolerance to it. The thing is that in the past suffering from so much pain would have sent me into a dark place. I’d hide from the world and feel sorry for myself. I’d catastrophise and think “I’ll never get better”.

This week has been different. I’ve noticed a big change in the way I’ve dealt with the pain. Yes I’ve had some moans (just ask hubby) but I’ve also been a lot more positive. It hasn’t even felt like an effort, it’s just sort of happened. I’ve accepted that the pain is bad, that I need to up my painkillers and that I will need to sleep even more than usual.

It feels good to be able to deal with it. I’m proud of myself. To be honest it’s made it a bit easier to deal with the pain and its effects when I’m not surrounded by black clouds.

So I’m going to keep plodding on, staying positive and I’m sure I’ll get there in the end (wherever “there” might be).

Keep smiling….it sounds cheesy but it does help.

*signs off to snooze*

love,

Rhoda sig

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Keep Smiling…

  1. Smiling definitely does help, Rhoda. Releases those moodlifters like oxytocin which are natural painkillers. oddly enough if you can manage to put your face into one even without thinking of something bright, it still makes you feel better. Try it! And of course it works even more with the happy thoughts too. Wishing you many more of those. You are surrounded by love. and deservedly so. B x

Leave a Reply

